Up in a tree…

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron up in a tree
taught me the folly
of being a human doing
so off the treadmill to oblivion
cautiously stepped my soul
then my whole body followed
flowers ran to me in droves
trees whispered ancient stories
out on the limb dangling for so long
now without a care in the world
why worry? it’s all going to fade
drifting out into the universe
I see you smiling with the morning sun
death was a pleasant thing when she came
on a moonless night, the sea spoke to me
in small glimpses, now we’re all seeing
how much better to live as a human being…
(Copyright 07-26-17)

Leave a Reply

