Jane met Sarah…

Double_Image1

Jane met Sarah, and the two had a lot in common. Sarah was proud of her song
titled ‘River’. Mr. Darcy liked that song so much, he planned to have that song on
him when cremated. That would make Jane happy.
He got her message even though it was very indirect, and coyly placed in his path
some time ago. Mr. Darcy was more like Sherlock Holmes then Jane ever realized.
All her fine characters, masterfully paraded before him, were puzzles that only
he could possibly unscramble into a cohesive signature. The signature that had her quill prints all over them. He had finally cracked the puzzle before him. Jane laughed to herself, and winked at Sarah. They understood each other perfectly. Darcy walked away mumbling something to himself, and was never seen again.  
(Copyright 9-19-11)

“Mr. Darcy’s letter she was in a fair way of soon knowing by heart. She studied every sentence; and her feelings towards its writer were at times widely different. When she remembered the style of his address, she was still full of indignation; but when she considered how unjustly she had condemned and upbraided him, her anger was turned against herself; and his disappointed feelings became the object of compassion. His attachment excited gratitude, his general character respect; but she could not approve him; nor could she for a moment repent her refusal, or feel the slightest inclination ever to see him again. “
Pride & Prejudice – Jane Austen

Picture from the net.

“River”
It’s coming on Christmas
They’re cutting down trees
They’re putting up reindeer
And singing songs of joy and peace
Oh I wish I had a river
I could skate away on
But it don’t snow here
It stays pretty green
I’m going to make a lot of money
Then I’m going to quit this crazy scene
I wish I had a river
I could skate away on
I wish I had a river so long
I would teach my feet to fly
Oh I wish I had a river
I could skate away on
I made my baby cry

He tried hard to help me
You know, he put me at ease
And he loved me so naughty
Made me weak in the knees
Oh I wish I had a river
I could skate away on
I’m so hard to handle
I’m selfish and I’m sad
Now I’ve gone and lost the best baby
That I ever had
Oh I wish I had a river
I could skate away on
I wish I had a river so long
I would teach my feet to fly
Oh I wish I had a river
I made my baby say goodbye

It’s coming on Christmas
They’re cutting down trees
They’re putting up reindeer
And singing songs of joy and peace
I wish I had a river
I could skate away on
– Sarah McLachlan

Leave a Reply

