Ode to Ann Caroline Coleman…

To Endure the slings and arrows

It was 1819 and from your letter did flow
all but the real reason that I’d never know
That your father forbade this union
He was a heartless man
So you headed to the city
Where you made a final stand.

Your love letters I always carried
throughout that life never married
But your father forbade this union
He was a controlling man
Your portrait always close by me
The tears mere grains of sand.

For years, I could not hope to sleep
So I’d visualize you standing there
But your father forbade this union
He was a heartless man
And eventually I’d fall asleep
On my shoulder be your hand.

Your sister met the same sad fate
I know these things – now far too late
But your father forbade this union
He was a controlling man
190 years later, the truth is finally revealed
On the day that you died, our hearts forever sealed.
Copyright 2009

Leave a Reply

